does ect work for depression — what the trials actually show
someone said the letters and the room went quiet. ect. you have seen the film. your prescriber says it is nothing like that now, and that it is the most effective thing they have. nobody hands you the trials, or the memory studies, or the relapse number.
here they are. what the largest comparison ever run found, what the sham-controlled trials showed and why the critics say they do not count, what the memory evidence actually measures and what it cannot, why the electrode placement matters, how often people relapse afterwards, how ect compares with ketamine, and what the uk guideline and the fda actually say. seventeen sources, funding and device-maker ties disclosed where the record states them.
what ect is, in one paragraph
electroconvulsive therapy induces a brief seizure under general anaesthesia and a muscle relaxant, usually two or three times a week over several weeks. the variables that matter in the trials are where the electrodes go (both temples, bitemporal, or one side, right unilateral), the dose relative to the person's seizure threshold, and the pulse width (brief or ultrabrief)[9],[12]. the sine-wave machines that produced the worst cognitive outcomes in older studies are largely obsolete in high-income countries[6].
the biggest comparison: 113 trials, 6,750 people
the 2019 bmj network meta-analysis of every randomised trial of non-surgical brain stimulation put ect at the top. bitemporal ect had a summary odds ratio for response of 8.91 against sham (95% confidence interval 2.57 to 30.91) and high-dose right unilateral ect 7.27 (1.90 to 27.78); the next best was priming tms at 6.02 and plain high-frequency tms sat at 3.17[1]. those two forms of ect were also the only strategies that beat other active treatments head-to-head, not just sham[1].
look at the intervals. 2.57 to 30.91 is wide because few ect trials have a sham arm, and the network borrows strength from indirect comparisons. the finding is that ect is very likely the most effective option in the set; the size of the advantage is uncertain[1].
the sham trials, and the argument about them
the direct evidence is older. the uk ect review group's 2003 lancet meta-analysis pooled six randomised trials, 256 patients, of real versus simulated ect (anaesthesia without the seizure) and found a standardised effect of −0.91 (−1.27 to −0.54) in favour of real ect. against medication, across 18 trials and 1,144 people, the effect was −0.80 (−1.29 to −0.29)[2]. those six sham-controlled trials date from the 1970s and 1980s, and there have been none since.
the memory question, split the way the evidence splits it
objective tests. a meta-analysis of 84 studies, 2,981 patients and 24 cognitive variables found decreases in 72% of variables in the first three days after ect, effect sizes from −1.10 to −0.21. from four to fifteen days, all but one interval included zero. after fifteen days there were no negative effects, and 57% of variables were better than before treatment: processing speed, working memory, anterograde memory and some executive function[5]. the depression was lifting, and thinking got easier.
what that analysis could not measure. its own abstract says it: “No standardized retrograde amnesia tests were identified.”[5] the memories people most often say they lost, of events before treatment, are the ones the objective literature was least equipped to test. the largest prospective study, 347 patients across seven facilities in the new york area, found retrograde amnesia on an autobiographical memory interview that was still detectable six months after treatment, more severe and more persistent after bilateral than right unilateral ect, and worse with sine-wave stimulation, older age and lower premorbid intellectual function; outcomes differed between facilities largely because technique did[6]. a 2024 meta-analysis of ten studies argued the standard screening tools were too blunt and found a deficit in long-term learning on an ect-specific instrument, alongside no detriment in memory, attention or language and a gain in executive function[7].
what patients say. across 72 studies and 5,699 people, 48.1% reported cognitive complaints after ect. whether subjective cognition improved or worsened depended on the instrument: a multi-item memory scale showed large improvement, single-item scales showed worsening, and the strongest predictor of feeling sharper was how much the depression had lifted[8].
bitemporal, unilateral, ultrabrief
seven randomised trials, 792 people, compared moderate-dose bitemporal ect with high-dose right unilateral. no difference in efficacy: hedges's g −0.03 on depression scores, remission risk ratio 1.06, relapse at twelve months 1.42 (0.90 to 2.23). unilateral had the cognitive advantages: reorientation after each session about eight minutes faster, and less retrograde autobiographical memory loss (g −0.46)[9]. the 2003 analysis had found bilateral more effective than unilateral; the difference is the dose, and the later trials used high-dose unilateral[2],[9].
ultrabrief pulse, marketed as the gentlest form, is the one to ask about. across 30 studies and 1,478 people, ultrabrief high-dose right unilateral ect had a pooled remission rate of 32.2% and a response rate of 45.3%; 28.1% of patients were switched to standard brief-pulse ect for inadequate response. the authors' conclusion: it “cannot be regarded as ‘state-of-the-art’ ECT”[12]. the senior author of that review declares speaker honoraria from mecta, an ect device manufacturer, and from otsuka and janssen[12]. that is disclosed in the record and it is on this page for the same reason.
the relapse number
ect is an acute treatment. across 32 studies, in the modern-era ones where people took continuation medication afterwards, 51.1% of those who had responded to ect relapsed by twelve months (44.7% to 57.4%), most of them, 37.7%, within six months. continuation ect gave a similar six-month figure, 37.2%. in the randomised trials, antidepressants halved the six-month relapse risk against placebo (risk ratio 0.49, number needed to treat 3.3), and the strongest evidence was for tricyclics; for the newer antidepressants most people are actually given, the evidence was “limited or non-existent”[10]. four small randomised trials, 254 people, later found that continuation ect plus medication reduced relapse a further 43% compared with medication alone (risk ratio 0.57, number needed to treat 7), with no difference in dropout[11].
one in two people relapsing within a year is not a footnote. it means the question to ask is not only whether to have ect but what the plan is for the twelve months after it.
safety, and the death rate
the pooled mortality analysis covers 15 studies, 32 countries and 766,180 treatments, with 16 deaths attributed to ect: 2.1 per 100,000 treatments (1.2 to 3.4). in the nine studies published after 2001, covering 414,747 treatments, there was one. the authors compare that with a reported 3.4 per 100,000 for general anaesthesia in surgery[13]. the risks that matter more in practice are the cognitive ones above and the anaesthetic, which is why both nice documents require a documented assessment of “the risks associated with the anaesthetic; current comorbidities; anticipated adverse events, particularly cognitive impairment; and the risks of not having treatment”[16].
ect versus ketamine
six trials, five of them randomised, 340 inpatients who were all eligible for ect: ect had the efficacy advantage, standardised mean difference −0.69 (−0.89 to −0.48), with no significant difference on cognition, memory or serious adverse events, and different side-effect profiles (ketamine less headache and muscle pain; ect less blurred vision, vertigo and double vision)[14]. a larger non-inferiority trial in outpatients without psychosis was published after that search and reached a different conclusion; it is not in the pooled estimate and this page does not quote its numbers because it was not fetched for this page[14]. the honest summary is that in the sickest inpatients ect wins the comparison that has been run, and in less severe outpatients the question is open. the ketamine and esketamine evidence has its own page in the pipeline.
what nice and the fda actually say
the current uk guideline, ng222 (2022), recommendation 1.13.1: “Consider electroconvulsive therapy (ECT) for the treatment of severe depression if: the person chooses ECT in preference to other treatments based on their past experience of ECT and what has previously worked for them or a rapid response is needed (for example, if the depression is life-threatening because the person is not eating or drinking) or other treatments have been unsuccessful”[15]. 1.13.2 requires that people be “fully informed of the risks, and of the risks and benefits specific to them”, including “potential adverse events, in particular cognitive impairment”, the risks for older people, and “the risks associated with not having ECT”, and 1.13.3 requires a shared decision with informed consent[15]. the older technology appraisal still stands for catatonia and mania and for its process rules: “treatment should be stopped when a response has been achieved, or sooner if there is evidence of adverse effects”[16].
in the united states, the fda issued a final order on 26 december 2018 reclassifying ect devices from class iii to class ii with special controls “for use in treating catatonia or a severe major depressive episode (MDE) associated with major depressive disorder (MDD) or bipolar disorder (BPD) in patients age 13 years and older who are treatment-resistant or who require a rapid response due to the severity of their psychiatric or medical condition”, and requiring premarket approval for all other uses[17]. a classification is a statement about regulatory controls, not a trial result; what it tells you is which uses the regulator considers established enough to need only special controls, and that everything else does not.
what to ask before you decide
these are questions, not advice. they are the ones the trials make it reasonable to ask.
- which placement and pulse width: bitemporal, high-dose right unilateral, or ultrabrief? the efficacy and the memory findings differ by form[9],[12]
- how will my cognition be tested, before, during and at the end of the course, and who reads the result?[6],[16]
- what is the plan for the twelve months afterwards, given that half of responders relapse?[10],[11]
- if i have had ect before, what happened, and does that change the recommendation?[15]
- was ketamine or esketamine considered, and why was ect preferred for me?[14]
- what happens if i say no, and what is the risk of not having it?[15],[16]
this is not medical advice. it is a summary of published research, it is not a diagnosis, and it is not a recommendation for or against any treatment — nobody here has met you. decisions about starting, changing or stopping a medication belong to you and a prescriber who knows your history. do not change a prescribed medication on the strength of a web page, this one included.
last verified . if a source is updated, corrected or retracted, this page gets changed and re-dated.
sources
primary sources only — no news write-ups, no secondary summaries. each was fetched and checked on the access date shown.
[1] Mutz J, Vipulananthan V, Carter B, Hurlemann R, Fu CHY, Young AH. Comparative efficacy and acceptability of non-surgical brain stimulation for the acute treatment of major depressive episodes in adults: systematic review and network meta-analysis. BMJ, 2019. doi:10.1136/bmj.l1079. PMID 30917990.
systematic review with pairwise and network meta-analysis of 113 randomised trials (262 treatment arms) · n = 6,750 · evidence tier: strong · funding: academic; ICMJE disclosure forms completed, no industry funding stated in the record · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: the ect estimates have wide intervals (bitemporal 2.57 to 30.91) because few ect trials used a sham arm; 83% of trials in the network were at low or unclear risk of bias.
[2] UK ECT Review Group. Efficacy and safety of electroconvulsive therapy in depressive disorders: a systematic review and meta-analysis. The Lancet, 2003. doi:10.1016/S0140-6736(03)12705-5. PMID 12642045.
systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised trials: real vs simulated ect (6 trials, 256 patients), ect vs pharmacotherapy (18 trials, 1,144), bilateral vs unilateral (22 trials, 1,408) · n = 256 · evidence tier: strong · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: the sham-controlled trials it pools are from the 1970s and 1980s and there have been none since; "short-term efficacy" is what was measurable, and the review says so.
[3] Read J, Bentall R. The effectiveness of electroconvulsive therapy: a literature review. Epidemiologia e Psichiatria Sociale, 2010. doi:10.1017/s1121189x00000671. PMID 21322506.
narrative literature review of the sham-controlled trials, by two psychologists critical of ect · evidence tier: contested · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: the strongest published case against ect, cited here so the reader sees it in the authors’ own words. it is a narrative review, not a meta-analysis, and its conclusion that use "cannot be scientifically justified" is a judgement the trials in sources 1, 2 and 9 do not share.
[4] Andrade C. Active Placebo, the Parachute Meta-Analysis, the Nobel Prize, and the Efficacy of Electroconvulsive Therapy. Journal of Clinical Psychiatry, 2021. doi:10.4088/JCP.21f13992. PMID 34000105.
commentary; the published rebuttal to the critics’ position · evidence tier: contested · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: a commentary, not data. it concedes the sham trials are "undoubtedly poor" and argues from dose-comparison trials and a parachute analogy; the analogy is rhetoric, the dose-comparison point is a real argument.
[5] Semkovska M, McLoughlin DM. Objective cognitive performance associated with electroconvulsive therapy for depression: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Biological Psychiatry, 2010. doi:10.1016/j.biopsych.2010.06.009. PMID 20673880.
meta-analysis of 84 within-subject studies, 24 cognitive variables, tested before and after ect · n = 2,981 · evidence tier: strong · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: its own limitation, stated in the abstract: "No standardized retrograde amnesia tests were identified", so the recovery it reports is of anterograde memory, attention, speed and executive function, not of the autobiographical memories patients most often say they lost.
[6] Sackeim HA, Prudic J, Fuller R, Keilp J, Lavori PW, Olfson M. The cognitive effects of electroconvulsive therapy in community settings. Neuropsychopharmacology, 2007. doi:10.1038/sj.npp.1301180. PMID 16936712.
prospective naturalistic longitudinal study at seven facilities in the new york area; 347 patients evaluated after ect and at 6 months · n = 347 · evidence tier: strong · funding: independent; NIMH grants listed on the record · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: naturalistic, so technique was not randomised; the sine-wave stimulation it found most harmful is now largely obsolete in high-income countries, which limits how far the worst findings carry.
[7] Guo Q, Wang Y, Guo L, Li X, Ma X, He X, Li J, Zhang X. Long-term cognitive effects of electroconvulsive therapy in major depressive disorder: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Psychiatry Research, 2024. doi:10.1016/j.psychres.2023.115611. PMID 38101070.
systematic review and meta-analysis of 10 studies (five randomised, five quasi-experimental), prospectively registered (PROSPERO CRD42023439259) · n = 868 · evidence tier: moderate · funding: unknown; authors declare no conflicts of interest · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: ten heterogeneous studies; the headline deficit (smd −0.94) is on a new ect-specific instrument used in a subset, and the abstract argues the older tools were too blunt, which is a claim as much as a finding.
[8] Semkovska M, Knittle H, Leahy J, Rasmussen JR. Subjective cognitive complaints and subjective cognition following electroconvulsive therapy for depression: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Australian and New Zealand Journal of Psychiatry, 2023. doi:10.1177/00048674221089231. PMID 35362328.
systematic review and meta-analysis of 72 studies of patients’ own reports of their cognition after brief-pulse ect · n = 5,699 · evidence tier: strong · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: the result depends on the instrument: a multi-item memory scale shows improvement, single-item scales show worsening, and complaints track how much the depression lifted. that is an honest map of a contested question, not a resolution of it.
[9] Kolshus E, Jelovac A, McLoughlin DM. Bitemporal v. high-dose right unilateral electroconvulsive therapy for depression: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomized controlled trials. Psychological Medicine, 2017. doi:10.1017/S0033291716002737. PMID 27780482.
systematic review and meta-analysis of seven randomised trials comparing moderate-dose bitemporal with high-dose right unilateral ect · n = 792 · evidence tier: strong · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: seven trials; the cognitive advantage for unilateral is on reorientation time and retrograde autobiographical memory, with no difference on the other measures pooled.
[10] Jelovac A, Kolshus E, McLoughlin DM. Relapse following successful electroconvulsive therapy for major depression: a meta-analysis. Neuropsychopharmacology, 2013. doi:10.1038/npp.2013.149. PMID 23774532.
systematic review and meta-analysis of 32 studies of relapse in responders to an acute ect course, up to two years of follow-up · evidence tier: strong · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: the 51.1% figure is with continuation pharmacotherapy in modern-era studies; the evidence base for newer antidepressants after ect is, in the authors’ words, "limited or non-existent".
[11] Jelovac A, Braithwaite R, Kellner CH, McLoughlin DM. Continuation electroconvulsive therapy combined with pharmacotherapy for depression relapse prevention: A systematic review and meta-analysis. Psychological Medicine, 2025. doi:10.1017/S0033291725101608. PMID 40874256.
systematic review and meta-analysis of four randomised trials of continuation ect plus medication versus medication alone after a successful acute course (PROSPERO CRD420251000113) · n = 254 · evidence tier: moderate · funding: unknown; one author (Kellner) declares fees from UpToDate for writing ECT topics, teaching fees from Northwell Health, and royalties from Cambridge University Press · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: four trials, 254 people; the authors themselves call for larger multicentre trials.
[12] Jelovac A, McLoughlin DM. Ultrabrief pulse electroconvulsive therapy for depression: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Molecular Psychiatry, 2026. doi:10.1038/s41380-025-03327-z. PMID 41206419.
systematic review and meta-analysis of 30 randomised and observational studies of ultrabrief-pulse ect, 2007 to 2024 · n = 1,478 · evidence tier: moderate · funding: unknown; the senior author declares speaker honoraria from MECTA (an ECT device manufacturer), Otsuka and Janssen, and an honorarium from Janssen for an esketamine advisory board · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: pooled from mixed designs; the remission figure (32.2%) is for one form of ect, ultrabrief high-dose right unilateral, and the authors’ conclusion is about that form, not ect in general.
[13] Tørring N, Sanghani SN, Petrides G, Kellner CH, Østergaard SD. The mortality rate of electroconvulsive therapy: a systematic review and pooled analysis. Acta Psychiatrica Scandinavica, 2017. doi:10.1111/acps.12721. PMID 28332236.
systematic review and pooled analysis of 15 studies from 32 countries covering 766,180 ect treatments · n = 766,180 · evidence tier: strong · funding: unknown (not stated in the abstract we read) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: counts deaths attributed to the treatment in the source studies, which depends on how each study attributed them; the comparison to general anaesthesia (3.4 per 100,000) is the authors’ and comes from a separate analysis.
[14] Rhee TG, Shim SR, Forester BP, Nierenberg AA, McIntyre RS, Papakostas GI, Krystal JH, Sanacora G. Efficacy and Safety of Ketamine vs Electroconvulsive Therapy Among Patients With Major Depressive Episode: A Systematic Review and Meta-analysis. JAMA Psychiatry, 2022. doi:10.1001/jamapsychiatry.2022.3352. PMID 36260324.
systematic review and meta-analysis of six clinical trials (five randomised) comparing ect with ketamine in inpatients eligible for ect · n = 340 · evidence tier: strong · funding: independent; NIH grants (NIA, NIMH, NCATS) listed on the record · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: six trials, all inpatient; a larger non-inferiority trial published after the search date (ELEKT-D, 2023) reached a different conclusion in outpatients without psychosis and is not in this pooled estimate.
[15] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Depression in adults: treatment and management (NG222), recommendation 1.13: Electroconvulsive therapy for depression. NICE guideline NG222, 2022.
the current uk clinical guideline recommendation on ect for depression, read from the recommendations chapter · evidence tier: strong · funding: n/a (national guideline body) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: a guideline is a synthesis plus a judgement; the recommendation is "consider", conditioned on severity, urgency, prior response and shared decision-making, and it is quoted in full on the page.
[16] National Institute for Health and Care Excellence. Guidance on the use of electroconvulsive therapy (TA59). NICE technology appraisal TA59, 2003.
technology appraisal, published 26 april 2003, last updated 1 october 2009, reviewed 22 april 2014; the depression recommendations were later moved to the depression guideline · evidence tier: strong · funding: n/a (national guideline body) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: cited for its standing conditions (documented risk assessment, consent, cognitive monitoring "at a minimum at the end of each course"), which still apply; its depression-specific recommendations have been superseded by NG222.
[17] US Food and Drug Administration. Neurological Devices; Reclassification of Electroconvulsive Therapy Devices; Effective Date of Requirement for Premarket Approval for Electroconvulsive Therapy Devices for Certain Specified Intended Uses. Federal Register, 83 FR 66103, 2018.
final order, published and effective 26 december 2018, reclassifying ect devices for specified uses from class iii to class ii with special controls · evidence tier: strong · funding: n/a (regulator) · accessed September 15, 2026
the catch: a device classification is a statement about regulatory controls, not a trial result; the order names the intended uses it covers (catatonia, or a severe major depressive episode in patients 13 and older who are treatment-resistant or need a rapid response) and requires premarket approval for everything else.
questions
Does ECT actually work for depression?
In the largest comparison of brain-stimulation trials, a network meta-analysis of 113 randomised trials in 6,750 people, bitemporal ECT had the highest odds of response against sham of any treatment (odds ratio 8.91) and high-dose right unilateral ECT was second (7.27); those two were also the only strategies that beat other active treatments head-to-head. The 2003 Lancet pooled analysis of the six sham-controlled trials found a standardised effect of −0.91 against simulated ECT and −0.80 against medication. The caveat is real: the sham-controlled trials are from the 1970s and 1980s and none have been run since, which is the critics’ main argument.
Does ECT cause permanent memory loss?
It depends what is measured. On standardised tests of attention, processing speed, anterograde memory and executive function, a meta-analysis of 84 studies in 2,981 patients found deficits in the first three days that resolved within 15 days and were followed by improvement beyond baseline. That same analysis could find no standardised test of retrograde amnesia, the loss of past memories, so it does not settle that question. A prospective study of 347 patients at seven facilities found retrograde amnesia still detectable six months after bilateral ECT, worse with sine-wave stimulation and bilateral placement. And a meta-analysis of 72 studies found 48% of patients report cognitive complaints after ECT. Objective recovery and subjective complaint are both real findings.
What is the relapse rate after ECT?
High. A meta-analysis of 32 studies found that, even with continuation medication, 51.1% of people who responded to ECT had relapsed by twelve months, and 37.7% within six months. Antidepressants halved the six-month relapse risk compared with placebo, and continuation ECT plus medication reduced relapse by a further 43% compared with medication alone in four small trials. ECT is an acute treatment; the plan for what comes after it is as important as the course.
Is ECT safe? What is the death rate?
A pooled analysis of 15 studies covering 766,180 treatments in 32 countries found 16 ECT-related deaths, a rate of 2.1 per 100,000 treatments; in the nine studies published after 2001, covering 414,747 treatments, there was one. The authors compare that with a reported 3.4 per 100,000 for general anaesthesia in surgery. The risks that matter more in practice are cognitive, and those are on this page.
Is ECT better than ketamine?
In a 2022 meta-analysis of six trials in 340 inpatients, ECT had an efficacy advantage over ketamine for depression severity (standardised mean difference −0.69), with no significant difference in cognition, memory or serious adverse events. A larger non-inferiority trial published after that search, in outpatients without psychosis, reached a different conclusion and is not in the pooled estimate, so the honest answer is that it depends on who is being treated.
Bilateral or unilateral ECT: which is better?
Seven randomised trials in 792 people found no difference in efficacy between moderate-dose bitemporal ECT and high-dose right unilateral ECT (Hedges’s g −0.03 on depression scores, remission risk ratio 1.06), while unilateral had cognitive advantages: faster reorientation after each session and less retrograde autobiographical memory loss. Ultrabrief-pulse unilateral ECT, sold as the gentlest form, had a pooled remission rate of only 32.2% in a 2026 meta-analysis, with 28% of patients switched to standard ECT for inadequate response.
What do NICE and the FDA say about ECT?
The current UK guideline (NG222, 2022) says to consider ECT for severe depression if the person chooses it based on past experience, or a rapid response is needed because the depression is life-threatening, or other treatments have been unsuccessful, with informed consent and a documented risk discussion. In December 2018 the FDA reclassified ECT devices from class III to class II for catatonia and for severe major depressive episodes in patients 13 and older who are treatment-resistant or need a rapid response, and required premarket approval for all other uses.
related on veisund
the people who can tell you what ect was actually like are the ones who had it
veisund is free peer support, and you are anonymous to everyone you talk to. you post under a handle you pick — no real name, no phone number, nothing that follows you back to your real life 🤍
get veisund — it's free