evidencepublished last verified

Who funds the nonprofits?

Eighteen US mental-health organisations, ranked by how much they will tell you about who pays them. the richest manufacturer disclosure sits sixteenth and dead last by size — and the second-largest, the Trevor Project, proves a big organisation can publish dollar bands too.

6 of 18
organisations that name a drug company as a funder
12 of 12
sponsors S&PAA names that are drug manufacturers
$0
the Treatment Advocacy Center’s published pharmaceutical policy
2 of 18
organisations with a computable share of revenue — and only as a floor

the rule this page follows. every named funder below is a name the organisation itself chose to publish. every revenue figure is a tax filing. every drug is verified against the FDA's own label database. nothing is inferred, nothing is estimated, and where a number cannot be computed it is left out rather than guessed. these organisations do real good; you should still know who pays.

Eighteen checked. six name a drug company.

Eighteen US mental-health nonprofits were checked — the original thirteen, plus five with some of the largest young-adult followings in the sector: the Trevor Project, To Write Love on Her Arms, Crisis Text Line, Born This Way Foundation and Bring Change to Mind. Six of the eighteen name a drug company among their funders [1][5][6][7][10][20]. That is the finding, and it did not grow with the page: the five young-adult organisations added exactly one manufacturer-naming disclosure between them, and it belongs to the biggest of them.

The other twelve break into three groups. Five publish funder names with no drug companies among them — and for only one of those, the Treatment Advocacy Center, is the negative genuinely verified [3][4]; TWLOHA, Crisis Text Line and Born This Way name a handful of partners each, in thank-yous and story sets rather than registers [22][25][28]. Six publish something that is not a donor list: a logo wall, a list rendered by script that never reaches the page source, a policy without a current list, one page of a tax return, or six years of full tax returns with no names in them [11][12][13][14][15][29]. One publishes nothing we can reach at all [19].

Why the tax return cannot answer this question. A public charity's Form 990 Schedule B has donor names and addresses redacted in the public copy by law. The 990 gives a denominator and nothing else. It cannot tell you that a single dollar came from a drug company. Every named-donor fact on this page comes from the organisation choosing to publish it. Everything on this page that names a funder exists because an organisation decided to print it.

The sort order is the finding

Ranked by revenue, this list runs Child Mind Institute at $97.7 million, the Trevor Project at $83.8 million, AFSP at $48.0 million, Autism Speaks at $36.3 million and Crisis Text Line at $32.3 million before it reaches anyone in the original set with a detailed disclosure [17].

The richest manufacturer disclosure still sits at the bottom of the size table: DBSA is sixteenth of eighteen by revenue, and S&PAA is last. But the expansion broke the old rule that the biggest organisations are the quietest — the second-largest organisation here, the Trevor Project, publishes dollar bands for 135 corporate partners [20]. Size and disclosure are unrelated variables, and now the page shows it in both directions. Sorting by size would still have filled the top of the page with organisations where the honest answer is “we do not know.”

So the page is sorted by disclosure quality instead. Sorted by disclosure quality, never by size. An organisation that publishes is legible; an organisation that publishes nothing looks cleaner only because it is opaque. Read the ladder below as a measure of transparency, not of virtue. An organisation near the bottom is not cleaner than one near the top. It is quieter.

tier 1named donors, with published dollar bands4 organisations

The organisation names its funders and publishes the dollar range each one sits in. This is the most informative disclosure any organisation in this group offers.

Organisations at disclosure tier 1: named donors, with published dollar bands. Columns are organisation, Form 990 fiscal year and total revenue, the number of drug manufacturers named, and what the organisation publishes.
organisation990 revenuedrug makers namedwhat it publishes
DBSAFY2022$2.6M14The only organisation here that publishes bands, exact amounts and a documented drug link.
JEDFY2023$20.7M6Discloses more than most and takes less pharmaceutical money than most. The finding is the smallness.
TrevorFYE Jul 2023$83.8M2The second-largest organisation here, and the best big-organisation disclosure: 135 corporate partners in six dollar bands. Two are drug companies.
BBRFFY2023$21.7M1One manufacturer named, and we cannot tell you its band.
tier 2named donors, ranked tiers, no dollar values1 organisation

The organisation names its funders and ranks them, but never publishes what a rank is worth. You get an order and nothing cardinal.

Organisations at disclosure tier 2: named donors, ranked tiers, no dollar values. Columns are organisation, Form 990 fiscal year and total revenue, the number of drug manufacturers named, and what the organisation publishes.
organisation990 revenuedrug makers namedwhat it publishes
MHAFY2023$12.1M16Sixteen manufacturers, ranked across five tiers, and no tier has a published dollar value.
tier 3named donors, no amounts, no period6 organisations

The organisation names its funders and stops there. You can say who, never how much, and sometimes not even when. Some of these lists are explicitly partial — a thank-you or a sentence beginning 'partners including', not a register.

Organisations at disclosure tier 3: named donors, no amounts, no period. Columns are organisation, Form 990 fiscal year and total revenue, the number of drug manufacturers named, and what the organisation publishes.
organisation990 revenuedrug makers namedwhat it publishes
S&PAAFY2023$1.5M12Every sponsor it names is a drug manufacturer. Twelve of twelve.
TACFY2023$2.9Mnone — verifiedPublishes constantly about antipsychotics and refuses pharmaceutical money. This is the control case.
IOCDFFY2023$5.1Mnone disclosedNo drug company money, and a real conflict anyway. Its sponsors are the treatment industry.
TWLOHAFY2023$3.9Mnone disclosedNames three partners — a musician's mental-health fund, a hair-dye brand and a lip-balm brand — against a $328,377 corporate-gifts line.
Crisis Text LineFY2023$32.3Mnone disclosedPublishes a funding pie and six partner stories. The pie is an image, and the stories are a highlight reel, not a list.
Born This WayFY2023$7.1Mnone disclosedNames four funders with the word 'including' — and one of them is the co-founder's own cosmetics brand.
tier 4a disclosure exists, but not in a usable form6 organisations

A logo wall with no amounts, a list rendered by script and absent from the page source, a policy without a current list, or a single page of a tax return. Something is published; it does not answer the question.

Organisations at disclosure tier 4: a disclosure exists, but not in a usable form. Columns are organisation, Form 990 fiscal year and total revenue, the number of drug manufacturers named, and what the organisation publishes.
organisation990 revenuedrug makers namedwhat it publishes
Child MindFYE Sep 2023$97.7Mnone disclosedThe largest organisation here, and its funder ecology is finance, law, retail and media.
Active MindsFY2023$11.1Mnone disclosedNo drug companies disclosed — but a health insurer's foundation and a campus teletherapy vendor are.
AFSPFY2023$48.0Mnot disclosedThe biggest gap on this page. Forty-eight million dollars, and no readable funder data in either direction.
CHADDFYE Jun 2024$2.7Mnot disclosedIts single largest revenue line is federal grants. An industry-capture frame applied to CHADD would be factually wrong.
ADAAFY2023$2.5Mnot disclosedHas the strongest written policy here — and we still cannot tell you that it takes no drug-company money.
BC2MFY2023$2.7Mnot disclosedPosts six years of full tax returns and not one funder name. Founded by Glenn Close; runs stigma programmes in over a thousand schools.
tier 5no disclosure obtainable1 organisation

The site blocks automated retrieval and the most recent usable archive is years stale. No primary data, and no negative can be verified.

Organisations at disclosure tier 5: no disclosure obtainable. Columns are organisation, Form 990 fiscal year and total revenue, the number of drug manufacturers named, and what the organisation publishes.
organisation990 revenuedrug makers namedwhat it publishes
Autism SpeaksFYE Mar 2023$36.3Mnot disclosedExcluded from the disclosure comparison. No primary data, and no negative can be verified.

Revenue is the full-year Form 990 Part I total revenue for the fiscal year shown, read from the IRS's own e-file record of each return [17]. These are the filing years this page was built on in August 2026. The IRS record now holds one or two later returns for most of the eighteen, and they have not yet been swapped in, so read the column as a size class rather than this year's figure. An earlier version of this note described the source as ProPublica's parse of the 990; every figure has since been re-checked against the IRS return itself. All matched except CHADD's: an earlier version of this page paired CHADD's fiscal year ending June 2024 with the prior-year column of its return ($2,745,451); the IRS return for that year says $2,735,694. One filing note: Child Mind Institute changed its fiscal year end in 2023, so a short-period return (Oct–Dec 2023, $15.2 million for the three-month stub) postdates the full-year $97.7 million figure shown here. “None disclosed” means the organisation publishes no donor list, so no manufacturer name could appear even if one existed — it is not a finding that no money was received. “None — verified” appears once, for the Treatment Advocacy Center, and is explained below. Autism Speaks appears at tier 5 and is excluded from every comparison on this page.

The clearest case: a tardive dyskinesia programme, funded by a company that sells a tardive dyskinesia drug

The Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance convened a Peer Council on tardive dyskinesia — an involuntary movement disorder — and thanked Teva Pharmaceuticals for funding it [1]. Teva markets AUSTEDO, one of only two drugs the FDA has approved to treat tardive dyskinesia [18].

DBSA describes the initiative in its own annual report, and closes the section:

“DBSA gratefully acknowledges Teva Pharmaceuticals for its generous support of this initiative.”— Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance, 2025 Annual Report, Tardive Dyskinesia and Mental Health Research & Clinical Trial Education Initiative [1]

And this belongs in the same breath, because DBSA printed it too. The participant testimony DBSA quotes in that same section is cautionary about medication, not promotional: “I did not know that one of the main causes of TD comes from the use of long-term medication.” A tardive dyskinesia awareness programme paid for by a company that sells a tardive dyskinesia drug is exactly the disclosed-but-notable fact this page exists to surface — and DBSA's own material tells readers that antipsychotics cause the condition. Publishing the funding without that sentence would misrepresent the source.

Two more funded programmes are named in the same report: a co-branded PTSD patient education campaign with Lundbeck, and Otsuka's sponsorship of a “Transforming the Definition of Wellness” initiative [1].

DBSA's named funders, in DBSA's own dollar bands
2025 · 14 pharmaceutical entities, plus a diagnostics company and a trade association · transcribed from the annual report [1]
Drug manufacturers and trade associations named as DBSA investors in 2025, grouped by the dollar band DBSA published for each.
band, as printedentities
$100,000 or moreIntra-Cellular Therapies (ITCI) · Otsuka America Pharmaceutical Inc.
$25,000 - $99,000Alkermes, Inc. · Compass Pathways Plc · Definium Therapeutics · Johnson & Johnson Foundation · Johnson & Johnson Health Care Systems Inc · Lundbeck Pharmaceuticals · Lundbeck US Charitable Fund · Myriad Genetics · Neumora Therapeutics · Neurocrine Biosciences, Inc. · Takeda Pharmaceuticals America, Inc. · Teva Pharmaceuticals
$10,000 – $24,999Boehringer Ingelheim Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
$1,500 – $2,499PhRMA (trade association)

DBSA prints the second band as "$25,000 - $99,000". That is DBSA's own text, reproduced as printed. DBSA also discloses two exact amounts in prose: $35,000 from Johnson & Johnson Health Care Systems and $50,000 from the Johnson & Johnson Foundation, both for its online peer support groups. Both fall inside the band they are printed in, which independently confirms the bands are real.

The control case, and it sits here on purpose

The Treatment Advocacy Center publishes constantly about antipsychotic medication and states that it accepts no pharmaceutical money at all [3][4]. Its research briefings include pieces on two newly approved antipsychotics, on barriers to long-acting injectable antipsychotics, and on new medications for schizophrenia. Its published policy is unambiguous:

“TAC is a wholly independent and non-partisan organization. We accept NO money from the pharmaceutical industry or other interest groups that could tarnish our reputation for independence in research, policy work, or advocacy.”— Treatment Advocacy Center, published history [3]

We verified that two independent ways. A named-entity scan of TAC's complete donor list, across all four donor pages, against a 40-name manufacturer list returned zero matches — the only apparent hits were substrings inside ordinary words, like “passage” and “compassionate” [4]. And TAC states the policy itself. Its founding funder is named openly: the Stanley Family Foundation, via Vada Stanley, at TAC's founding in 1998.

This is why the page has any credibility at all. Without an organisation like TAC directly beside DBSA, “this group discusses antipsychotics” and “this group takes drug money” would collapse into a single signal, and the page would become an insinuation machine. TAC proves the page is measuring funding, not punishing anyone for talking about medication. The two ship together or neither does.

Fairness in the other direction. TAC is a genuinely contested organisation. Assisted outpatient treatment and civil-commitment expansion are opposed by much of the psychiatric-survivor movement. The claim on this page is narrow and financial: TAC takes no industry money and says so. That is not an endorsement of its policy positions.

Twelve of twelve

What the list can and cannot say, first: S&PAA publishes names only — no amounts, no period label anywhere on the page, so the list could be years out of date and the dollars are unknowable. With that stated: every sponsor the Schizophrenia & Psychosis Action Alliance names is a drug manufacturer or biotech company. All twelve of them [5]:

AcadiaAlkermesBioXcel TherapeuticsBoehringer IngelheimBristol Myers SquibbCerevelIntra-Cellular TherapiesJohnson & JohnsonNeurocrine BiosciencesOtsukaSunovionTeva

S&PAA's sponsor list is flat, alphabetical and untiered. Because there is no period and no amount, we can say who funds S&PAA and nothing about how much or when. The missing period label matters on its own: the list could be stale and a reader has no way to tell. "Sunovion" is now Sumitomo Pharma America, Inc. The FDA lists LATUDA (lurasidone, NDA200603) under Sumitomo Pharma America. We reproduce S&PAA's label as printed and footnote the current entity. S&PAA files its Forms 990 under its predecessor name, the Schizophrenia And Related Disorders Alliance Of America; the EIN is continuous and the brand changed [17].

And here is what we still cannot tell you about it. S&PAA publishes no amounts and no period label. Twelve of twelve is the sharpest single fact on this page, and it is a statement about the composition of a list, not about how much money changed hands or when. The missing period matters on its own: the list could be years out of date and a reader has no way to tell.

The organisation that discloses more and takes less

The Jed Foundation publishes seven dollar bands, and its entire drug-industry presence is one foundation gift in the $25,000–$99,999 band plus five smaller ones [6] — against $19.6 million of contributed revenue on its 2024 Form 990 [17]. (An earlier version of this sentence set the 2024 donor list against $17.6 million, which is JED's 2023 figure; the IRS return for 2024 says $19.6 million.)

JED's top band, $1,000,000 and above, is foundations, health plans and media. JED's top band, $1,000,000 and above, is foundations, health plans and media — Fidelis Care/Centene Foundation, Morgan Stanley Foundation, the Penner, Poses and WoodNext foundations, and the Satow family. Kenvue, the Johnson & Johnson consumer spinoff, also sits at $100,000+; it is consumer health, not a psychiatric-drug maker.

JED is on this page because it breaks the pattern. It has one of the best disclosures of any organisation here and one of the smallest pharmaceutical footprints. A page that showed only the drug-funded organisations would be a rigged page. This is what good disclosure and low industry funding look like at the same time — and it demonstrates that the two are not the same variable.

The biggest young-adult brand here publishes bands too — and its drug-industry footprint is two names out of 135

The Trevor Project names 135 corporate partners across six published dollar bands, from $10,000-plus to $500,000-plus. Two are drug companies: the Gilead Sciences Foundation at $250,000-plus and Pfizer at $10,000-plus [20]. Its top band is retail — Abercrombie & Fitch, Lululemon and Macy's — and the list runs through Coca-Cola, Disney, Netflix, Sephora and the NFL before it touches health care at all. By Trevor's own published split, corporate partners were 18.6% of its $88.0 million FY2025 income; individual philanthropy was 40.5% [20].

Both drug-company names deserve their precise labels. Gilead has no FDA-approved psychiatric product — its label portfolio is HIV, hepatitis, antiviral and oncology medicine, a business relevant to LGBTQ+ health rather than to psychiatric prescribing [18]. Pfizer's one current psychiatric label is Pristiq, an antidepressant held through its Wyeth subsidiary; Zoloft, Xanax and Effexor all moved to Viatris in the 2020 Upjohn spin-off, per the FDA's current labeler fields [18].

The Trevor Project's corporate bands — health-sector entities only
FY2025 (Aug 2024 – Jul 2025) · band names, dollar floors and per-band company counts are Trevor's own; only health-sector entities are reproduced here [20]
The Trevor Project's six corporate-partner bands for FY2025 with the number of companies in each, showing only the health-sector entities by name.
band, with company counthealth-sector entities in the band
Premier ($500K+) — 3 companiesnone
Platinum ($250K+) — 10 companiesGilead Sciences Foundation
Gold ($100K+) — 22 companiesDelta Dental
Silver ($50K+) — 24 companiesCencora Impact Foundation
Bronze ($25K+) — 28 companiesNewport Healthcare
Champion ($10K+) — 48 companiesPfizer · Hims & Hers

Only health-sector entities are reproduced in this table; the counts are complete. The other 129 named partners are retail, media, technology, finance and consumer brands — the Premier band is Abercrombie & Fitch, Lululemon and Macy's, and the Platinum band includes Coca-Cola, Procter & Gamble and MAC Cosmetics.

Three more names sit in adjacent conflict classes, and they are named here so no one can say the page pattern-matched on manufacturers only. Three named partners sit in adjacent conflict classes rather than the drug-manufacturer class: Cencora Impact Foundation (Silver, $50K+) is the foundation of Cencora, the pharmaceutical distributor formerly AmerisourceBergen; Hims & Hers (Champion, $10K+) is a direct-to-consumer telehealth company whose platform prescribes antidepressants and anti-anxiety medication online; Newport Healthcare (Bronze, $25K+) is an adolescent and young-adult residential mental-health treatment provider — and also an IOCDF event sponsor on this same page.

The largest funding story at Trevor in FY2025 was money withdrawn, not money received. Trevor's own report states that in June 2025 the federal government abruptly shut down the 988 Lifeline's LGBTQ+ Youth Specialized Services programme, “stripping The Trevor Project of an estimated $25 million received in federal funds each year,” and that two reductions-in-force followed, with approximately half of its staff departing [20]. Government grants were 21.8% of its income. Any reading of Trevor's corporate list should sit next to that fact.

One filing note. The $83.8 million in the ladder above is Trevor's Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 2023, read from the IRS e-file record [17]. The IRS record also holds its returns for the years ending July 2024 ($71.2 million total revenue) and July 2025 ($85.5 million) [17], and Trevor posts its FY2025 Form 990 and audited statements on its own financial-reports page, with filings back to FY2008 [21]. An earlier version of this note called the gap “the parser's” lag; the parser was ProPublica's, which we no longer cite, and the IRS record was never behind. The FY2025 990's $85.5 million and the annual report's $88.0 million of income are two presentations of the same year, both Trevor's.

Sixteen manufacturers, five tiers, and no dollar figures anywhere

Mental Health America names sixteen drug manufacturers across five ranked tiers, and publishes no dollar value for any tier [7]. Its Clifford Beers Society runs Diamond, Platinum, Gold, Silver and Bronze.

Mental Health America's corporate tiers, as published
2025 · a ranking with no cardinal values attached [7]
Mental Health America corporate supporters by named tier, 2025. No dollar value is published for any tier.
tierworthnamed supporters
Diamondnot publishedJohnson & Johnson · Teva · Boehringer-Ingelheim
Platinumnot publishedAxsome · Compass · Myriad · Neurocrine · Otsuka · AbbVie
Goldnot publishedLundbeck (marked "Silver Founding Member") · Takeda
Silvernot publishedAcadia · Intra-Cellular Therapies, Inc.
Bronzenot publishedAlkermes · FaegreDrinker (law firm) · Neuromora Therapeutics (as printed; almost certainly Neumora) · Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO, trade association) · Bristol Myers Squibb · Sage

MHA does not publish what the tiers are worth. Its partnership page describes categories in prose and names no dollar figure at any tier. So MHA gives an ordinal ranking and nothing cardinal. We record the tier label and never impute a dollar value to it. MHA posts annual reports for 2006–2025 and audited financial statements for 2012–2025 — the deepest public archive of any organisation in this group.

MHA names funders in programme contexts and names no drug. Its 2025 report describes a Community Impact Zones initiative launched with Otsuka America Pharmaceutical in New Jersey, and free resources developed with Alkermes and others. Those are funder-named programmes, not drug promotion. We do not infer promotion from funding, and MHA is exactly where that rule bites.

No drug money, and a real conflict anyway

Not one of the 33 sponsors the International OCD Foundation names is a drug company. Nearly all of them are treatment providers [9] — residential and intensive-outpatient programmes, hospitals, and a therapy referral platform. Among them: Anxiety Institute, Ascension, BioBehavioral Institute, Cascade Academy, Compass Health Center, ERC Pathlight Mood & Anxiety Center, InStride Health, McLean OCDI, and NOCD.

Label this correctly or get it exactly backwards. A patient organisation whose sponsors are residential and intensive-outpatient providers and a referral platform has a referral-and-admissions conflict, not a prescribing conflict. It is a real conflict; it is a different one. A page that only pattern-matched on drug-company names would score IOCDF clean and would be wrong.

Two things on IOCDF's site look like answers to this question and are not. IOCDF's Conflict of Interest Policy governs officers, directors and key management employees — business relationships, duty to disclose, recusal, an annual signed statement. It says nothing about accepting corporate or industry money, and must not be presented as an industry-funding policy. And its “Our Partners” page lists nonprofits only — it is a collaboration list, not a funder list. The same trap applies to AFSP's conflict-of-interest policy, which likewise governs directors and officers and says nothing about accepting corporate money [13].

Three young-adult brands that name names — and stop there

To Write Love on Her Arms, Crisis Text Line and Born This Way Foundation all name funders, none names an amount, and none of the three lists claims to be complete. No drug company appears in anything the three publish. That is a real, checkable fact about their funder ecology — music, retail, beauty, tech platforms and foundations — and it is still “none disclosed,” not “none received,” for every dollar beyond the named handful.

TWLOHA itemises the money and then names three partners. Its 2024 annual report breaks revenue down by category — including a corporate-gifts line of $328,377 against $3.85 million of total revenue — and its thank-you page names exactly three 2024 partners: the Busyhead Project, the mental-health fund founded by the musician Noah Kahan; Splat, a hair-colour brand; and Poppy & Pout, a lip-care brand [22]. Three consumer-scale names cannot be assumed to account for a $328,377 line, and no list ties names to that number. What TWLOHA does exceptionally well is the archive: a Form 990 for every year since 2007 and audited statements for most years since 2012, on its own finances page [23].

Born This Way Foundation names four funders with the word “including.” Its 2025 impact report credits “our partners including Pivotal, Cotton On Foundation, Sephora, and Haus Labs” for the $5 million Kindness in Community Fund [28]. The word “including” is the organisation's own admission that the list is partial. And one of the four is a disclosure question of its own flavour: Haus Labs is the cosmetics brand of Lady Gaga — Stefani Germanotta — whom the same report lists as the Foundation's co-founder and a director. Founder-affiliated funding is not industry funding, and it is disclosed — both halves of that sentence matter.

Crisis Text Line publishes a pie and a highlight reel. Its funding mix — government and collaboration 55.6%, philanthropy 31.3%, corporate 13.1%, per its 2024 audited statements — is published as a chart image with an empty alt attribute, so the figures exist on the page only as pixels [24]. Its corporate-partnerships page tells six partner stories — UBS Optimus Foundation, American Eagle, TikTok, Nike, Face the Fight (USAA, Reach Resilience and the Humana Foundation) and Major League Baseball — with no amounts and no completeness claim [25]. The full Forms 990 and audited statements it posts for 2023 and 2024 are the usable part of the disclosure [24].

The one documented funding-model controversy in this group is Crisis Text Line's, and its own statement is the record. Crisis Text Line created Loris.ai, a for-profit customer-service software spin-off with a licence to anonymised texter conversation data. On January 31, 2022 — the same day an FCC commissioner published a letter demanding the practice stop [27] — Crisis Text Line announced that “we have ended our data-sharing relationship with Loris” and requested “that Loris delete the data it has received from Crisis Text Line” [26]. The same statement says the data was “handled securely, anonymized and scrubbed of personally identifiable information” and that Loris had not accessed it since early 2020 [26]. Both halves are Crisis Text Line's own words, and both belong here: a data licence to a spin-off is a funding model, and ending it is part of the record too.

One filing note for Crisis Text Line. Its revenue swings hard on its IRS returns — $49.6 million in 2020, $9.9 million in 2021, $32.3 million in 2023, $45.4 million in 2024 — while expenses were $25.1 million in 2020 and $31.8–35.6 million from 2021 through 2024 [17]. (An earlier version of this note said expenses held near $32–36 million across the whole span; the IRS return for 2020 says $25.1 million.) Multi-year gifts land in single filing years; no single year's revenue is a run rate.

The six that publish something other than an answer

Six organisations publish something about their funding that does not tell you who funds them. Each fails differently, and the failure modes are worth naming.

The claim we are refusing to make: “ADAA takes no pharmaceutical money.” The archived donor list — gifts over $1,000 for 2022 and 2023 — contains no manufacturers. That negative does not hold and this page does not use it. The list covers donations, and ADAA is majority programme-funded: $1,236,912 of programme service revenue against $1,137,200 of contributions. The channel where industry money would appear, conference sponsorship and exhibits, is the channel the donor list excludes. The list is also three years old.

And Autism Speaks is excluded outright. Its site sits behind a web application firewall, its corporate-partners and annual-report URLs return a 212-byte shell, and the most recent usable Internet Archive capture of its annual-reports page is from January 2018 [19]. No primary disclosure is obtainable and no negative can be verified. Its tax filing is real and we cite it, but it does not appear in any disclosure comparison on this page.

What these funders actually sell

This table answers one question and only one: what does each named funder sell? Every brand, generic name, labeler and application number below is the FDA's own field, re-queried against the openFDA label database on 2026-08-27 (original rows); 2026-09-02 (PRISTIQ row and Gilead/Pfizer portfolio checks) [18]. The labeler is the entity printed on the label, which is often a subsidiary rather than the parent — that precision is preserved deliberately.

FDA-approved psychiatric products of the manufacturers named as funders by the organisations on this page, with generic name, the labeler printed on the FDA label, the approved indication, and which organisations that funder supports.
brandlabeler on the FDA labelapproved forfunds
AUSTEDOdeutetrabenazineTeva Neuroscience, Inc.tardive dyskinesia; chorea in Huntington's diseaseMHA Diamond · DBSA $25k–$99k · S&PAA
INGREZZAvalbenazineNeurocrine Biosciences, Inc.tardive dyskinesia; chorea in Huntington's diseaseMHA Platinum · DBSA $25k–$99k · S&PAA
ABILIFYaripiprazoleOtsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc.schizophrenia; bipolar; adjunct in depressionMHA Platinum · DBSA $100,000+ · S&PAA
REXULTIbrexpiprazoleOtsuka America Pharmaceutical, Inc.schizophrenia; adjunct in depressionMHA Platinum · DBSA $100,000+ · S&PAA
CAPLYTAlumateperoneIntra-Cellular Therapies, Incschizophrenia; bipolar depressionMHA Silver · DBSA $100,000+ · S&PAA
VRAYLARcariprazineAllergan, Inc.schizophrenia; bipolar; adjunct in depressionMHA Platinum · JED $10k–$24,999
LYBALVIolanzapine and samidorphanAlkermes, Inc.schizophrenia; bipolar IMHA Bronze · DBSA $25k–$99k · S&PAA
TRINTELLIXvortioxetineTakeda Pharmaceuticals America, Inc.major depressive disorderMHA Gold · DBSA $25k–$99k · JED $1k–$4,999
NUPLAZIDpimavanserinAcadia Pharmaceuticals Inc.hallucinations and delusions in Parkinson's disease psychosisMHA Silver · S&PAA
AUVELITYdextromethorphan and bupropionAxsome Therapeutics, Inc.major depressive disorderMHA Platinum
COBENFYxanomeline and trospiumE.R. Squibb & Sons, L.L.C.schizophreniaMHA Bronze · S&PAA · JED (BMS Foundation)
SPRAVATOesketamineJanssen Pharmaceuticals, Inc.treatment-resistant depressionMHA Diamond · DBSA · S&PAA
LATUDAlurasidoneSumitomo Pharma America, Inc.schizophrenia; bipolar depressionS&PAA
ZURZUVAEzuranoloneBiogen MA Inc.postpartum depressionMHA Bronze
PRISTIQdesvenlafaxineWyeth Pharmaceuticals LLC, a subsidiary of Pfizer Inc.major depressive disorderTrevor Champion $10K+

This table is a reference, not an accusation. This table answers one question: what does this funder sell? It does not assert that any organisation promoted any drug. Only DBSA has a documented organisation-side drug-class instance, and it ships with DBSA's own cautionary sentence attached. Funders named by these organisations with no FDA-approved psychiatric product, and therefore no row: Boehringer Ingelheim, Compass Pathways, Neumora Therapeutics, Cerevel, BioXcel, Definium Therapeutics (entity unverified), Myriad Genetics (diagnostics, not a drug), NRx Pharmaceuticals, PhRMA and BIO (trade associations), Kenvue and Pharmavite (consumer health and supplements), and Gilead Sciences (named by Trevor via its foundation — its openFDA portfolio is HIV, hepatitis, antiviral and oncology medicine, with no psychiatric product). Cencora (drug distribution), Hims & Hers (telehealth prescribing) and Newport Healthcare (residential treatment) hold no drug labels and are adjacent conflict classes, not manufacturers.

Why there is no percentage on this page

For sixteen of the eighteen organisations, no share-of-revenue figure is computable at all. Tier labels with no dollar values, logo walls, untiered name lists and no list at all all yield the same thing: a denominator from the tax return and no numerator. The honest response is to omit the number, not to estimate it.

DBSA and the Trevor Project are the exceptions, and even there the honest object is a floor rather than a percentage, because both publish bands and a lower bound is arithmetic: each entity gave at least its band floor. For Trevor the sum is small enough to state in one sentence — Gilead's $250,000 band floor plus Pfizer's $10,000 gives at least $260,000 against Trevor's own published FY2025 income of $88.0 million, a floor of 0.3% with no computable ceiling [20]. For DBSA, against its own audited FY2025 contributions of $2.5M:

operating manufacturers only
at least 17.0%
a floor of at least $420,000

Excludes corporate foundations and charitable funds, diagnostics companies, trade associations, and one entity we could not verify.

plus corporate foundations, charitable funds, diagnostics and PhRMA
at least 22.2%
a floor of at least $546,500

Adds the Johnson & Johnson Foundation, the Lundbeck US Charitable Fund, Myriad Genetics, Definium Therapeutics and PhRMA.

Both floors are shown, and neither is a percentage. DBSA's top band is open-ended — “$100,000 or more” — so there is no upper bound at all, no range can be given, and a midpoint would be fabrication. Two defensible classification rules exist, so both are shown rather than one being picked silently. One further caveat: the investor list and the audited contributions line are two different documents in the same PDF and need not have identical scope. The floor survives that; a precise percentage would not.

What this page does not claim

Questions worth asking

Does taking drug-company money mean an organisation is compromised?

No, and this page does not claim it. Every organisation here runs programmes people depend on — helplines, peer support groups, campus programmes, education. No document on this page shows a payment conditioned on a position. What the page shows is who pays, because that is a fact you are entitled to have when you read their material.

Why does the organisation with the most drug-company funders rank near the bottom by size?

Because disclosure and size are unrelated. The Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance publishes named donors in dollar bands and has revenue of about $2.8 million. The Child Mind Institute has revenue of $97.7 million and publishes a logo wall with no amounts. Sorting this page by size would fill it with organisations where the honest answer is "we do not know."

If an organisation lists no drug companies, does that mean it takes no drug money?

Almost never. Only the Treatment Advocacy Center has a verified negative — it publishes a policy refusing industry money, and a scan of its full donor list against a manufacturer name list returned zero matches. For the Child Mind Institute, Active Minds, AFSP, CHADD and Bring Change to Mind, the correct statement is "none disclosed," because none of them publishes a donor list at all. TWLOHA, Crisis Text Line and Born This Way name a handful of partners each — thank-yous and story sets, not registers — so beyond those names the same rule applies.

Why is there no "percentage of revenue from pharma" figure anywhere on this page?

Because it cannot be computed. A public charity’s Form 990 Schedule B has donor names and addresses redacted by law, so the tax return gives a denominator and nothing else. Sixteen of the eighteen publish no numerator. DBSA and the Trevor Project publish dollar bands, which support floors — "at least 17 percent" for DBSA, "at least 0.3 percent" for Trevor — but every top band is open-ended, so no upper bound exists and a single percentage would be invented.

The Trevor Project takes money from Gilead and Pfizer. Is that a psychiatric-drug conflict?

State it precisely. Gilead Sciences Foundation sits in Trevor’s $250,000-plus band, and Gilead has no FDA-approved psychiatric product — its portfolio is HIV, hepatitis and antiviral medicine, which is relevant to LGBTQ+ health rather than to psychiatric prescribing. Pfizer sits in the $10,000-plus band, and its one current psychiatric label is Pristiq, an antidepressant held through its Wyeth subsidiary. Two names out of 135 disclosed corporate partners, with band floors summing to $260,000 against $88.0 million of income. The facts are all published; the inference is yours.

What was the Crisis Text Line and Loris.ai episode, and is it a funding issue?

Crisis Text Line created Loris.ai, a for-profit customer-service software spin-off with a licence to anonymised texter conversation data. After an FCC commissioner’s public letter dated January 31, 2022, Crisis Text Line announced the same day, in its own words, that it had "ended our data-sharing relationship with Loris" and asked Loris to delete the data — while stating the data had been anonymised and scrubbed, and that Loris had not accessed it since early 2020. It is on this page because a data licence to a spin-off is a funding model, and every sentence above is from the organisation’s own statement or the regulator’s letter.

The International OCD Foundation takes no drug-company money. Does that make it clean?

No. Its disclosed sponsors are residential and intensive-outpatient treatment providers and a therapy referral platform. That is a referral-and-admissions conflict rather than a prescribing conflict. It is a real conflict; it is a different one. A page that only pattern-matched on drug-company names would score IOCDF clean and would be wrong.

Why is Autism Speaks listed but excluded from the comparison?

Its site blocks automated retrieval and the most recent usable Internet Archive capture of its annual-reports page is from January 2018. We can cite its tax filing, but we cannot obtain a disclosure and we cannot verify a negative. Putting it in a disclosure table would imply we had checked something we could not check.

this is not medical advice, and nothing here is a reason to stop or change a medication. tardive dyskinesia is a real condition and the organisations named here do real work on it. if a medication is worrying you, that is a conversation for your prescriber, not a decision to make alone. if you're in crisis, call or text 988 (u.s.), 24/7, free.

Sources

  1. Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance. 2025 Annual Report, "2025 Investors" — named donor list in published dollar bands; audited Statement of Activities showing FY2025 total revenue $2,784,736 and contributions $2,465,032; the Lundbeck, Teva and Otsuka programme acknowledgements quoted on this page. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://www.dbsalliance.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/2025-Annual-Report.pdf
  2. Depression and Bipolar Support Alliance. Annual report index — reports posted for 2018 through 2025. Retrieved 2026-08-26. https://www.dbsalliance.org/about/media/annual-report-page/
  3. Treatment Advocacy Center. "Our history" — the published policy quoted on this page: "We accept NO money from the pharmaceutical industry or other interest groups." Note that treatmentadvocacycenter.org now redirects to tac.org; the old domain returns 403. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://www.tac.org/history/
  4. Treatment Advocacy Center. 2024–2025 Annual Report — donor list of individuals and foundations, alphabetical and unbanded, scanned against a 40-name manufacturer list with zero matches. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://www.tac.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/TAC_2024-2025_AnnualReport.pdf
  5. Schizophrenia & Psychosis Action Alliance. "Our sponsors" — flat alphabetical sponsor list, twelve names, no amounts and no period label anywhere on the page. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://sczaction.org/our-sponsors/
  6. The Jed Foundation. 2024 Annual Report — donor list in seven published dollar bands, $500–$999 through $1,000,000+. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://jedfoundation.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/09/JED-Annual-Report-2024_Final.pdf
  7. Mental Health America. 2025 Annual Report, "Clifford Beers Society — Corporate" — five named tiers, Diamond through Bronze, with no dollar value published for any tier. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://mhanational.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/02/MHA-Annual-Report-2025.pdf
  8. Mental Health America. Financials index — annual reports 2006–2025 and audited financial statements 2012–2025, the deepest public archive of any organisation on this page. Retrieved 2026-08-27. https://mhanational.org/financials/
  9. International OCD Foundation. 2025 Annual Report, "Thank you to our 2025 event sponsors" — named, untiered, no amounts. Retrieved 2026-08-26. https://iocdf.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/03/2025-Annual-Report-1.pdf
  10. Brain & Behavior Research Foundation. 2025 Annual Report — banded donor list. NRx Pharmaceuticals, Inc. appears; its band header could not be recovered from the three-column PDF layout and is therefore not reported. BBRF files as National Alliance For Research On Schizophrenia And Depression Inc. Retrieved 2026-08-26. https://bbrfoundation.org/sites/default/files/pdfs/bbrf-annual-report-2025.pdf
  11. Child Mind Institute. Corporate partners page — a logo wall; names recovered from image alt and src attributes. No amounts, no tiers, no period label. As of 2026-08-27 the page returns HTTP 403 to automated clients. Retrieved 2026-08-26. https://childmind.org/about-us/partnerships/corporate-partners/
  12. Active Minds. Partners page — a logo wall. No amounts, no tiers, no period label. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://activeminds.org/partners/
  13. American Foundation for Suicide Prevention. Corporate partners page — returns HTTP 200, but the partner list is rendered client-side and absent from the served HTML, which contains the unexecuted template code in its place. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27. https://afsp.org/corporate-partners/
  14. CHADD. Reports and funding — the FY24 annual report and page 1 only of the Form 990, for the tax year beginning July 1, 2023. No donor list is published. CHADD’s EIN, 59-2817697, was read from page 1 of that filing, and its current-year Part I lines reconcile exactly to the IRS e-file return for the fiscal year ending June 2024 [17]. Retrieved 2026-08-26, re-checked live 2026-08-27 and 2026-09-29. https://chadd.org/about/reports-and-funding/
  15. Anxiety and Depression Association of America. "Financial, Grant, Sponsorship, and Advertising Support Policy," page stating its own last-updated date of 2026-03-03. adaa.org returns HTTP 403 behind a bot wall to every automated client, so this is an Internet Archive snapshot of 2026-06-10. Retrieved 2026-08-26 via the Internet Archive. https://web.archive.org/web/20260610185508/https://adaa.org/financial-grant-sponsorship-advertising-policy
  16. Anxiety and Depression Association of America. "Major Donors — 2022 and 2023 (Gifts over $1,000)," snapshot of 2023-09-28. Cited here only to state that it is the wrong channel: it covers donations, and ADAA is majority programme-funded. Retrieved 2026-08-26 via the Internet Archive. https://web.archive.org/web/20230928102831/https://adaa.org/donate/our-donors
  17. Internal Revenue Service, Form 990 e-file public data (Form 990 Series Downloads): the IRS’s own machine-readable copies of each organisation’s filed return, published in yearly index files and zip batches at apps.irs.gov/pub/epostcard/990/xml/. Every EIN, fiscal year, total revenue, contributions and total expenses on this page is the Form 990 Part I line of the return identified in the page’s data file (fields CYTotalRevenueAmt, CYContributionsGrantsAmt, CYTotalExpensesAmt), read from that return and checked 2026-09-29. The same returns can be looked up by EIN in the IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search (apps.irs.gov/app/eos/), which returns HTTP 403 to automated clients. An earlier version of this source cited ProPublica’s Nonprofit Explorer, a news organisation’s republication of the same IRS data; on re-checking every figure against the IRS return, all matched except CHADD’s, which is corrected on this page. https://www.irs.gov/charities-non-profits/form-990-series-downloads
  18. US Food and Drug Administration, openFDA drug label API, queried on openfda.brand_name. Every brand, generic name, labeler and application number in the products table is the FDA’s own field. The tardive dyskinesia indications for AUSTEDO and INGREZZA were read from the labels’ own Indications and Usage sections. Independently re-queried and verified 2026-08-27. The PRISTIQ row, Pfizer’s current labeler fields for Zoloft, Xanax and Effexor (all Viatris), and Gilead’s full 25-label portfolio (no psychiatric product) were queried 2026-09-02. https://open.fda.gov/apis/drug/label/
  19. Autism Speaks. Excluded from the disclosure comparison. The site sits behind a web application firewall; the corporate-partners and annual-report URLs return a 212-byte shell, and the most recent usable Internet Archive capture of the annual-reports page is 2018-01-01. Its Form 990 data is cited from source [17]. Checked 2026-08-26.
  20. The Trevor Project. FY2025 Annual Report (August 2024 – July 2025) — 135 corporate partners hand-counted across six published dollar bands, Champion $10K+ through Premier $500K+; the foundations and government list; the published income and expense splits ($87,964,382 income; corporate partners 18.6%, government grants 21.8%); and the organisation’s own statement on the June 2025 federal shutdown of the 988 LGBTQ+ Youth Specialized Services programme, an estimated $25 million per year. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://storage.googleapis.com/trevor-web-public/2026/08/903d573e-ttp_fy2025_annualreport.pdf
  21. The Trevor Project. Financial reports index — annual reports, Forms 990 and audited financial statements posted back to FY2008, including a self-posted FY2025 Form 990; the IRS e-file record holds the same FY2025 return. Retrieved 2026-09-02, re-checked 2026-09-29. https://www.thetrevorproject.org/financial-reports/
  22. To Write Love on Her Arms. 2024 Annual Report — revenue breakdown per its IRS 2023 990, including the $328,377 corporate-gifts line, and the closing thank-you naming The Busyhead Project, Splat Hair Color and Poppy & Pout as 2024 partners. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://twloha.com/content/files/2024-AnnualReport-compressed.pdf
  23. To Write Love on Her Arms. Finances page — Forms 990 for every year 2007–2024, audited financial statements for most years since 2012, W-9, IRS determination letter and charitable solicitation disclosure. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://twloha.com/finances/
  24. Crisis Text Line. Financials page — the funding-mix chart (government/collaboration 55.6%, philanthropy 31.3%, corporate 13.1%, per its 2024 audited statements), published as a PNG with an empty alt attribute; percentages were read from the image itself because the page source contains no figures. Full Forms 990 and audited statements for 2023 and 2024 are linked from the same page. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://www.crisistextline.org/financials/
  25. Crisis Text Line. Corporate partnerships page — partner impact stories naming UBS Optimus Foundation, American Eagle, TikTok, Nike, Face the Fight (USAA, Reach Resilience and the Humana Foundation) and Major League Baseball, with no amounts and no completeness claim. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://www.crisistextline.org/corporate-partnerships/
  26. Crisis Text Line. “An Update on Data Privacy, Our Community and Our Service,” 2022-01-31 — the organisation’s own statement ending its data-sharing relationship with Loris.ai and requesting deletion, quoted verbatim on this page. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://www.crisistextline.org/blog/2022/01/31/an-update-on-data-privacy-our-community-and-our-service/
  27. US Federal Communications Commission, Commissioner Brendan Carr. Letter to Crisis Text Line and Loris.ai, 2022-01-31. The live fcc.gov URL returns 403 to automated clients; cited via the Internet Archive capture of 2025-07-08. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://web.archive.org/web/20250708121345/https://www.fcc.gov/sites/default/files/carr-letter-ctl-01312022.pdf
  28. Born This Way Foundation. 2025 Impact Report — “our partners including Pivotal, Cotton On Foundation, Sephora, and Haus Labs” (the Kindness in Community Fund, $5,000,000 to 55 organisations across 11 countries), and the board listing showing Stefani Germanotta as co-founder and director. The Foundation’s impact page also posts Forms 990 for FY2022–FY2024 and audited statements. Retrieved 2026-09-02. http://bornthisway.foundation/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/2025_ImpactReport.pdf
  29. Bring Change to Mind. Financials page — full Forms 990 for 2017–2022 and no donor list of any kind. Its 2024–25 impact report is an image-only PDF with no funder names, and its “become a partner” page returns a bot-wall block to automated clients. Retrieved 2026-09-02. https://www.bringchange2mind.org/about/financials/

Related on resolv