Follow the money

Who paid for the study, who sells the treatment, and what that reliably does to the result. Funding carries real weight in every trust score on this site for exactly this reason.

57 resources · every one cites a named source · how the trust score works

The other side of the ledger: more than half of people with depression worldwide get no treatment

A World Health Organization review of 37 studies put the median share of people with major depression who receive no treatment at 56%. Any account of oversold conditions has to hold that number too.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Treatment gap figures depend on survey instruments that define who counts as a case, and critics argue those instruments over-count distress as disorder, especially across cultures. The 2004 data are old and coverage has changed. The row uses the figure for what it measures, people meeting survey criteria who received no care, and does not claim all of them need medication.

published September 24, 2026source 2004read →

Only two industrialised countries let drug companies advertise prescription medicines to the public

The United States and New Zealand are the only two industrialised countries that allow prescription drug adverts aimed at the public. A 2006 debate in a medical journal set out both sides.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: A debate paper, not a study, and twenty years old. The legal position in either country may have changed since; the row dates the claim to 2006. Supporters of advertising point to real under-treatment of depression and to evidence that adverts prompt some appropriate care. Both positions are printed in the same paper, and this row gives both.

published September 24, 2026source 2006DOI verifiedread →

In Japan, depression was renamed “a cold of the soul” when the first SSRI arrived

Until the late 1990s the Japanese word for clinical depression carried a heavy stigma. After the first SSRI arrived in 1999, companies ran campaigns around a new phrase. Antidepressant sales rose six fold in eight years.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: This is an argument paper by a single author, not a study with a comparison group. Sales can rise because unmet need is finally met, because of marketing, or both, and the paper cannot separate them. The stigma it describes was real, and campaigns that reduce stigma have defenders in public health. The row reports what the paper documents, the phrase and the sales, and does not claim the people treated were not ill.

published September 24, 2026source 2012DOI verifiedread →

Thirty six studies of industry payments and prescribing: thirty positive in every analysis, six mixed, none null

"Most studies (n = 30) identified a positive association between payments and prescribing in all analyses; the remainder (n = 6) had a mix of positive and null findings. No study had only null findings."

moderate evidence67/100

Caveat on this rating: A systematic review of observational studies; the authors rate 21 of 36 included studies at serious risk of bias and note possible publication bias. Association across studies of many specialties and drug classes, not psychiatry specifically. The causal language is the authors' inference from timing and dose response, not a trial result.

published September 21, 2026source 2021DOI verifiedread →

HHS Inspector General on speaker programs: nearly $2 billion in three years, "skeptical about the educational value"

"In the last three years, drug and device companies have reported paying nearly $2 billion to HCPs for speaker-related services." The Inspector General's 2020 alert says what it thinks that money is for.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The alert describes patterns from enforcement cases and states that no single characteristic is determinative. It cites a trade-group position that speaker programs "help educate and inform other health care professionals about the benefits, risks, and appropriate uses of company medicines." Speaker programs are lawful when the facts and intent do not meet the statute; the alert does not name any company or clinician.

published September 21, 2026source 2020read →

129 papers by top-paid psychiatrists on drugs whose makers pay them: 93 favorable, none saying the drug fails

Federal payment records matched to 451 papers by the best-paid psychiatrists who publish. Where a drug's maker paid the author: 93 of 129 papers favorable, 29 neutral, 6 mixed, 1 negative. None concluded the drug does not work.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: A single reader classified the conclusions and a second reader would move some papers between groups. Payments made before a drug had a brand name are not attributed to it, which understates early money. A paper that names a drug is not always mainly about it. The analysis shows an association and a direction of conclusions; it cannot show that payment influenced any paper, and selection of successful investigators and publication bias are sufficient to produce much of the pattern.

published September 21, 2026source 2026read →

Twenty promoted brands are 2 percent of psychiatrists' Medicare prescriptions and half the cost

Medicare Part D 2024: twenty promoted brands were 2.3 percent of psychiatrists' prescriptions and about 54 percent of the drug cost. The sixty best-paid psychiatrists prescribed them at 2.8 times the rate of their peers.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Cross-sectional and ecological to the group: no timing, so it cannot separate payment-then-prescribing from prescribing-then-payment. Part D is one payer; Medicaid and commercial prescribing are not visible. Long-acting injectables and tardive dyskinesia drugs cluster in clinics that treat severe illness, which is also where speakers are recruited. Specialty is as recorded by CMS.

published September 21, 2026source 2026read →

In 2024 the sixty best-paid US psychiatrists took $28 million of the $71 million industry paid the whole specialty

Open Payments 2024: companies reported $71,386,487 in general payments to US psychiatrists. Sixty of them received $28,258,476, 40 percent of it. For those sixty, 63 percent was speaker fees and 20 percent consulting.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The specialty field is self-reported to the NPI registry; a psychiatrist listed under another first specialty is not counted. Open Payments records what companies report and can be disputed by the physician. The product attached to a payment is the company's attribution. A PubMed name search can miss publications under a different name form and can include a namesake; counts are indicative. A payment is not evidence that a prescription changed; the Annals review in this wave is the evidence on that question.

published September 21, 2026source 2025read →

One in three FDA approvals from 2005 to 2012 had a six-month pivotal trial; one in three rested on a single trial

448 pivotal trials behind 188 new drugs: "74 indications (36.8%) were approved on the basis of a single pivotal trial"; a trial "of 6 months or greater supported the approval of 68 indications (33.8%)". Median 760 patients.

moderate evidence62/100

Caveat on this rating: All therapeutic areas pooled; the psychiatric subset is not reported in the abstract. Trial duration was measured as any pivotal trial of six months or more supporting an indication, not the median length of all trials.

published September 21, 2026source 2014DOI verifiedread →

Cochrane: industry-sponsored studies reach favourable results more often, and the usual bias checks do not explain it

Across 75 papers, "Industry sponsored studies more often had favorable efficacy results, RR: 1.27 (95% CI: 1.17 to 1.37)" and conclusions, RR 1.34: "an industry bias that cannot be explained by standard 'Risk of bias' assessments".

moderate evidence59/100

Caveat on this rating: Quality of evidence is graded moderate for efficacy results and low for conclusions by the review itself; the harms comparison rests on four papers and is very low quality. A methodological review of comparisons, not of any single drug.

published September 21, 2026source 2017DOI verifiedread →

For newer antidepressants, negative trials were published transparently 47 percent of the time, up from 11 percent

Thirty trials of four antidepressants approved 2008 to 2013: every positive trial was published transparently, 7 of 15 negative ones were. Effect size inflation was 0.05, against 0.10 for the older drugs.

early signal54/100

Caveat on this rating: Thirty trials of four drugs from one class; the authors say so. "Transparent" is defined by agreement between the published and FDA conclusions, a judgement.

published September 21, 2026source 2022DOI verifiedread →

Leaders of ten US medical associations took $130 million from industry in three years; psychiatry's median was $212

A BMJ study matched 328 leaders of ten US medical associations to Open Payments. 72 percent had a financial tie, median $31,805. The American Psychiatric Association's leaders had a median of $212; oncology's, $518,000.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Open Payments records manufacturer-reported payments to physicians only; leaders who are not physicians are invisible to it. Funding for the study is not stated in the record we read. A payment is not evidence of influence and the study does not claim one.

published September 21, 2026source 2020DOI verifiedread →

Between 2021 and 2026 FDA user fee revenue rose 39 percent while its appropriations rose 7 percent

Congress's research service tracks the FDA budget year by year. Fees were 45.7 percent of the total in FY2021, 51.5 percent in FY2026 and 53.8 percent in the FY2027 request. Human drugs is the largest program at 35 percent.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: CRS figures for FY2027 are the President's request, not an enacted budget. Percent shares are ours, computed from the report's own totals. The report describes the budget; it takes no position on whether the fee share is appropriate, and none is taken here.

published September 21, 2026source 2026read →

Three in four US psychiatrists took an industry payment between 2015 and 2021, and 1 percent got 75 percent of the money

Of 56,955 US psychiatrists, 75.0 percent received at least one non-research industry payment from 2015 to 2021. The total was $357,971,774. In the authors' words, "1% of psychiatrists received 74.7% of industry payments".

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: General payments include small items such as meals; the count of psychiatrists receiving "any" payment therefore includes people who received one lunch. Funding for the study is not stated in the abstract. No causal claim about prescribing is made by the authors or here.

published September 21, 2026source 2025DOI verifiedread →

HHS found no study linking FDA user fees to drug prices; fees are 0.5 to 2 percent of development cost

HHS's planning office reviewed the research on FDA user fees in 2023. It found no papers linking fees to brand drug prices, and put fees at 0.5 to 2 percent of the cost of developing a drug and 0.2 percent of drug revenue.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Written by an HHS office, so it is the department describing its own agency's funding; its review of research on fees and prices is a narrative summary of the literature it found, not a systematic review, and absence of published evidence is not evidence of absence. Figures are FY2022 and earlier; the FY2026 operating plan row carries the current ones.

published September 21, 2026source 2023read →

Industry research support reached 488 US psychiatrists, under 1 percent, in eight years: $98 million, concentrated

Of 57,365 US psychiatrists in 2015 to 2022, 488 (0.85 percent) were principal investigators on industry research support: $98,189,901 in total, median $21,749 a year, concentrated in a few companies and institutions.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Open Payments attributes research payments to a named principal investigator; money paid to institutions without a named physician is not captured. Funding for the study is not stated in the abstract.

published September 21, 2026source 2026DOI verifiedread →

Two thirds of the American Psychological Association's $143 million is licensing; member dues are 6 percent

The psychologists' association's audited 2024 statements report $143.0 million in revenue: $93.5 million in licensing, royalties and rights, $23.7 million in publications, $8.7 million in member dues, and $18.9 million in building rent.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The licensing line is not broken out by product in the statements; the identification of it with the PsycINFO family rests on the notes' description of annual licences of electronic products and the association's own product listings, not on a figure in the audit. An audited statement is the organization's account of itself, checked by an auditor it pays.

published September 21, 2026source 2025read →

Royalties and credentialing products are 64 percent of the AMA's $513 million; membership dues are 6 percent

The AMA's audited 2024 statements report $513.2 million in revenue. Royalties and credentialing products are $326.0 million, up from $308.0 million. Membership dues are $32.5 million. Equity reached $1.15 billion.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The royalties line combines CPT licensing with credentialing products and licensed data sales; the report does not print CPT alone, so no CPT-only figure is stated. An annual report is the organization's account of itself, audited by a firm it pays.

published September 21, 2026source 2025read →

Federal regulation adopts the AMA's CPT codes as the standard every physician claim must use

45 CFR 162.1002, the HIPAA code set rule, adopts CPT-4 "as maintained and distributed by the American Medical Association" as the standard medical data code set for physician services and a list of other services.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The 2024 CFR edition is the one read; the section has been amended over time (the ICD-10 effective date shows that) and a later edition may differ in detail. Adoption of a code set is not a finding about its owner's pricing or conduct.

published September 21, 2026source 2024read →

Congress gave SAMHSA $7.4 billion for 2026, rejected a $1 billion cut and kept it an independent agency

The Senate Appropriations summary of the enacted FY2026 bill: $7.4 billion for SAMHSA, up $65 million, a proposed 15 percent cut rejected; $991 million for the mental health block grant; $535 million for 988; NIH $48.7 billion.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: A committee summary is written by the majority staff and carries its framing ("rejecting President Trump's proposed cut"); the dollar lines are the bill's, the adjectives are the committee's. The enacted act text itself was not read.

published September 21, 2026source 2026read →

NIMH's budget was $2.19 billion for the third year running; Congress rejected merging it into a new institute

The CRS NIH funding table: NIMH $2,191.7 million in FY2024, $2,191.7 million in FY2025, $2,189.8 million in FY2026, minus 0.1 percent. The FY2026 request proposed folding NIMH into a new institute; Congress did not adopt it.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Flat in nominal dollars is a real-terms cut only by the ordinary meaning of inflation; no deflator is applied here and no real-dollar figure is stated. The FY2027 request is not in this edition of the report.

published September 21, 2026source 2026read →

A third of the FDA-registered antidepressant trials were never published; the published ones looked twice as positive

Of 74 FDA-registered antidepressant trials, 31 percent were unpublished. "According to the published literature, it appeared that 94% of the trials conducted were positive. By contrast, the FDA analysis showed that 51% were positive."

early signal50/100

Caveat on this rating: The judgement that 11 studies were "published in a way that, in our opinion, conveyed a positive outcome" is the authors' reading, and the study covers approvals from 1987 to 2004; the 2022 update finds the gap narrower for newer drugs.

published September 21, 2026source 2008DOI verifiedread →

The American Psychiatric Association made a third of its $64.6 million from books and journals, 8 percent from dues

The body that writes the DSM reported $64.6 million in 2023 revenue to the IRS: $14.7 million from publications, $7.6 million in net book sales, $12.6 million from the annual meeting, $5.5 million in dues. Industry support is not itemized.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: A Form 990 does not itemize industry support, so no figure for pharmaceutical funding is stated or implied here; the association's annual reports, which might, are available only by email request and were not read. A 990 reports what the filer reports. Nothing in it shows money changing a diagnostic decision, and no such inference is drawn.

published September 21, 2026source 2024read →

User fees are now more than half of the FDA budget, and 73 percent of its drug review program

The FDA's FY2026 operating plan totals $7.06 billion: $3.43 billion appropriated by Congress and $3.63 billion in user fees paid by the industries it regulates. The Human Drugs program is $2.50 billion, of which $1.81 billion is fees.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: An operating plan is a spending plan, not an audited outturn, and the plan itself notes it will use carryover balances consistent with the fee agreements. The fee-act sums across programs are ours, not a line the plan prints. Funded by is not controlled by: the plan states amounts, and no inference about review decisions is drawn from it here.

published September 21, 2026source 2025read →

The bipolar screen was written by the PHQ authors and a committee, and who paid is not on the form

The Mood Disorder Questionnaire was validated in 198 patients at five mood clinics. Two of its authors wrote the PHQ-9. The form is copyright the University of Texas Medical Branch, says it is not a diagnostic tool, and prints no funder.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Funding is unknown, not absent: the record could not be read. The seven-in-ten and nine-in-ten figures are the form's own summary of the paper, in a mood-clinic sample where bipolar disorder is common; screens perform worse in general populations.

published September 17, 2026source 2000DOI verifiedread →

The adult ADHD screen: the WHO, an NIMH grant, and an Eli Lilly affiliation on the paper

The ASRS was developed with the World Health Organization. Its 2005 validation paper carries an NIMH grant, and the author affiliations printed on the publisher's page include Eli Lilly and Company. The funding line itself was not readable.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: An affiliation is not a funding statement. The paper's funding line was not readable, so whether Lilly funded the scale is not established and is not claimed; the NIMH grant is on the record.

published September 17, 2026source 2005DOI verifiedread →

The depression scale in drug trials was built from drug trials, to be sensitive to treatment

The Montgomery-Åsberg scale kept the ten items that changed most across 64 patients in studies of four antidepressants. Its authors say it was designed to be sensitive to treatment effects. It is the endpoint the FDA reads.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Sensitivity to change is a legitimate design goal for a trial endpoint and the authors state it openly; the point is transparency about what an approval number measures, not an accusation.

published September 17, 2026source 1979DOI verifiedread →

The PTSD checklist is public domain, and the agency that wrote it says the gold standard is an interview

The PCL-5 was written by VA National Center for PTSD staff and is not copyrighted. Its founding paper was in college students. The VA gives a cutoff of 31 to 33 for probable PTSD and says diagnosis needs a structured interview.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The founding validation is in students; later work in veterans and clinical samples exists and is not summarised here. The cutoff range is the VA's, with its own caveat that population and purpose change it.

published September 17, 2026source 2015DOI verifiedread →

Mental health hospital stays per person fell by a quarter since 2010 while the cost of each stay nearly doubled

AHRQ counts 697 mental health or substance use stays per 100,000 people in 2010 and 514 in 2023. The hospital's cost per stay went from $5,825 to $10,320 in nominal dollars, and the average stay lengthened from 6.9 to 7.5 days.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Nominal dollars are not inflation-adjusted; the file's own adjusted column is quoted so the two are not confused. A falling stay rate has more than one possible cause and the file does not choose between them.

published September 17, 2026source 2025read →

The alcohol screen came from a six-country WHO project, and Medicare lets the clinician choose the tool

The AUDIT's ten items were chosen from a 150-item schedule given to 1,888 primary care attenders in six countries. Medicare has covered annual alcohol screening since 2011 and, in its own words, does not identify specific screening tools.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The AUDIT-C founding validation excluded women; the WHO project spanned six countries with different drinking cultures. The fee-schedule value of the screen was not read and is not stated.

published September 17, 2026source 1993DOI verifiedread →

Medicaid pays for more adult mental health hospital stays than any other payer, in the 43 states that report

In AHRQ's 2023 state file, Medicaid was the expected payer for 486,750 of 1,300,400 adult mental health or substance use stays in the 43 reporting states, about 37%. Private insurance about 24%, Medicare 65+ about 11%. Our arithmetic.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: A sum over reporting states is not a national estimate; states that do not report (and the 19 percent of stays in undisplayed payer and age cells) are missing by construction. Counts are of expected payer at discharge, not of what was eventually paid.

published September 17, 2026source 2026read →

The depression inventory that costs money is in no payment measure

Beck's inventory has been validated for sixty years. Its current version is sold by Pearson, kits from $122.90 and forms from $3.90 on the day we read the page. The free PHQ-9 is the one written into the rules.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Prices change and are given only as of the read date. Being free is a distribution property, not a validity claim; the BDI-II's psychometrics are strong.

published September 17, 2026source 1961DOI verifiedread →

The exam antipsychotic prescribers are supposed to repeat, and rarely explain

The AIMS is widely recommended for periodic tardive dyskinesia screening in people on antipsychotics. The paper that explains how to do it says few guidelines exist on using it in practice, and that it is not specific to the disorder.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The exam's sensitivity and specificity for tardive dyskinesia are not established in this record; the authors themselves say it is not specific. How often it should be repeated is guideline-dependent and not stated here.

published September 17, 2026source 1988DOI verifiedread →

The child ADHD scale that gates most stimulant starts was built with a federal grant and is free

The Vanderbilt parent rating scale was validated with an Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality grant in 243 referred children. It is distributed free by NICHQ. Its founding sample was a clinic population, not a general one.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: A referred sample inflates apparent accuracy relative to general populations; the scales are DSM-IV era and have been carried forward.

published September 17, 2026source 2003DOI verifiedread →

Why you get screened at your PCP: the measure counts every patient over twelve

MIPS Quality ID 134 pays on the share of patients aged 12 and older screened for depression at the visit, with a follow-up plan documented within two days of a positive screen. The PHQ-9 and PHQ-2 are named as acceptable tools.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: A process measure is a legitimate way to make screening happen; the specification's own caution against reflexive prescribing is quoted so the measure is not misread as a prescribing incentive. What the screen pays is in the fee-schedule row.

published September 17, 2026source 2023read →

Medicare pays for one depression screen a year, and only where someone is there to act on it

Since 2011 Medicare has covered one depression screen a year, up to fifteen minutes, but only when staff-assisted depression care supports are in place for diagnosis, treatment and follow-up. A second screen in a year is not covered.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The coverage decision states a minimum staffing condition, not a standard of care; whether a given clinic meets it is not something the decision can verify.

published September 17, 2026source 2011read →

The law that put nine percent of a doctor's Medicare pay on quality scores

The 2015 MACRA statute created MIPS and set the payment adjustment at four percent for 2019, rising to nine percent from 2022, in both directions, on Medicare Part B pay. Depression screening and remission are among the measures.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The plus-or-minus nine percent is a ceiling, not a typical outcome; realised adjustments are smaller and budget-neutral. No per-clinician depression-measure figure exists in any record we read.

published September 17, 2026source 2015read →

Star ratings: fifteen billion dollars a year, on measures Congress's advisers call flawed

MedPAC told Congress in 2024 that Medicare Advantage quality measurement is flawed and not a reliable basis for judging plans, yet the bonus programme it feeds adds about fifteen billion dollars a year to plan payments.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: MedPAC's estimates are contested by the plans and their trade association; the commission's methods are published and its critics' are not summarised here.

published September 17, 2026source 2024read →

Which depression measures are in the 2026 Star Ratings: none

The 2026 Star Ratings list thirty-three Part C measures. None is a depression screening, follow-up or remission measure. The only mental-health star is a survey item; the antidepressant measure is display-only.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: This is the 2026 list; measures enter and leave the ratings by rulemaking, so the finding is dated. Display measures are published and can return to the ratings in later years.

published September 17, 2026source 2025read →

What Medicare pays for the screen itself: about nineteen dollars

In CMS's 2026 fee file the annual depression screen code carries 0.56 relative value units at a $33.4009 conversion factor: about $18.70 nationally. The brief assessment code is about $5. A twenty-minute visit is about $95.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Actual payment varies by locality (the GPCI) and by whether the QPP conversion factor applies; these are national base amounts computed by us. The fee is the direct payment only and says nothing about MIPS adjustments or plan-level risk payments.

published September 17, 2026source 2025read →

In 2024 a depression diagnosis became a narrower payment category, on purpose

CMS's 2024 risk model split the old Major Depressive, Bipolar, and Paranoid Disorders category into narrower ones, stating that diagnoses subject to discretionary coding should not raise cost predictions. Twenty percent fewer codes pay.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The report describes the reclassification and its rationale; it does not quantify the payment effect of moving depression from HCC 59 to HCC 155, and neither does this row.

published September 17, 2026source 2024read →

Seventy-five points: where the line sits, and what it does to a visit

CMS set the MIPS performance threshold at 75 points through the 2028 performance period. Above it a clinician's Part B pay is adjusted up, below it down. Every reported measure, depression screening included, is part of that score.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The mechanics paragraph is a paraphrase, marked as such; measure weighting, bonus points and exceptions make any individual clinician's arithmetic more complicated than one screen equals one point.

published September 17, 2026source 2025read →

The suicide questions in every drug trial were written with public money, and a seventy-company centre runs them

The C-SSRS was built by Columbia, Penn and Pittsburgh with NIMH support and is free to clinics. The FDA names it in its trial guidance. Its validation paper discloses support to the centre from more than seventy companies.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The disclosure describes support to the centre that runs the scale for sponsors who must use it, not payment for the scale's creation; the studies themselves were publicly funded. The FDA document is a draft and nonbinding on paper.

published September 17, 2026source 2011DOI verifiedread →

A score of 10 is a flag, not a diagnosis

Across 58 studies and 17,357 people, a PHQ-9 of 10 or more had sensitivity 0.88 and specificity 0.85. In published meta-analyses, questionnaires put depression at 31% and diagnostic interviews at 17%.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The screen's accuracy depends on the reference standard: the 0.88/0.85 figures are against semistructured clinician interviews; against fully structured or MINI interviews the authors report different values. The prevalence gap (31% vs 17%) is across heterogeneous populations and does not by itself show that any one clinic over-diagnoses; it shows what happens when a screen is read as a verdict.

published September 15, 2026source 2019DOI verifiedread →

Screening by itself does not change what happens next

Across 16 randomised trials in 7,576 patients, giving clinicians a depression questionnaire raised recognition a little and changed outcomes not at all: "little or no impact". What changes outcomes is what is built around the score.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The trials pooled here predate most collaborative-care programmes; the USPSTF's B grade rests on evidence that screening programmes with support improve outcomes, which is not in conflict with Gilbody's null for screening alone. Both are stated. Neither shows that screening harms.

published September 15, 2026source 2008DOI verifiedread →

How a score became a payment: the measures

MIPS measure 370 pays on a PHQ-9 below 5 at twelve months. Measure 134 pays on a screen plus a documented follow-up plan within two days. Health plans report the same PHQ-9 measures to NCQA. The score is now a unit of account.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Measure 134 is a process measure and its follow-up plan definition is broad by design; a documented referral counts, and the specification itself warns against reflexive prescribing. Measure 370 is an outcome measure and remission is a legitimate goal. The critique in this trail is about incentives around a screening score, not about the measures' stated intent, which is quoted.

published September 15, 2026source 2024read →

What the money is: nine percent, fifteen billion, and a diagnosis worth 0.39

MIPS moves up to 9% of a clinician's Medicare Part B pay. Star-rating bonuses add about $15 billion a year to Medicare Advantage. Diagnoses recorded only on health-risk assessments produced $7.5 billion in 2023 payments.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The 0.388 factor comes from a CMS table whose model version and date were not printed on the pages read; it is a pre-2024 numbering and the 2024 model reclassified the category, so treat it as the order of magnitude a coded diagnosis added, not a current price. MIPS adjustments are budget-neutral and most clinicians land near zero; the plus-or-minus 9 percent is the statutory range, not a typical outcome. The OIG figure covers diagnoses of all kinds recorded on HRAs, not depression alone.

published September 15, 2026source 2024read →

The version that works: a score you use in the room, not one you file

In a randomised trial, using rating scales to guide each treatment decision put 73.8% of people into remission versus 28.8% with usual care, and did it in half the time. The scale that pays is the same scale that helps, used differently.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: One trial of 120 outpatients in a single setting, with pharmacotherapy restricted to two drugs; the review's 'virtually all' spans heterogeneous designs. The effect size is large and consistent with the wider literature, but this is not the same evidence tier as the meta-analyses in stops 2 and 3. The claim that the measures do not pay for the conversation is an observation about the measure definitions quoted in stop 4, not a finding of any study.

published September 15, 2026source 2015DOI verifiedread →

The depression questionnaire was paid for by a drug company, and the form says so

The PHQ-9 footer reads: "Developed by Drs. Robert L. Spitzer, Janet B.W. Williams, Kurt Kroenke and colleagues, with an educational grant from Pfizer Inc." The 2001 validation paper says the same.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Funding a tool is not the same as biasing it: the PHQ-9's accuracy has since been tested in an independent individual-participant meta-analysis of 58 studies (stop 2), and the tool is free precisely because of the grant. What the grant bought is reach, not a rigged score. The GAD-7 funding statement was read from the instrument's own attribution, not from the 2006 paper's text.

published September 15, 2026source 2001DOI verifiedread →

Who pays for your doctor's continuing education

Drug and device makers gave $841.9 million to accredited medical education in 2025. Eighty percent of it went to for-profit education companies, not medical schools.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: Two pairings are mandatory. On the evidence: educational meetings do change practice at moderate certainty (Cochrane CD003030.pub3, 2021, 215 studies), and physician-industry interaction is associated with prescribing (Brax, PLoS One 2017, pooled OR 2.52, 95% CI 1.82-3.50, moderate quality) - but only TWO studies in that review examined industry-funded CME specifically, one at high risk of bias, published 1988 and 1992, neither measuring clinical outcomes; the most-cited (Orlowski, Chest 1992) measured prescribing after physicians were flown on "all-expenses-paid trips to popular sunbelt vacation sites", conduct Standard 4.1.c now prohibits. On the accreditor: the review most often quoted for "no evidence of bias" (Cervero and Gaines 2014) was commissioned and funded by the ACCME, as its own cover states, and its finding is symmetrical - no data-based article supports OR refutes the assertion. The register is disclosure, never accusation: you should know who pays.

published August 31, 2026source 2009DOI verifiedread →

When advertisers pushed back, it happened at the journals

After a medical journal graded all 109 drug ads running in ten leading journals against FDA standards, drug companies pulled their advertising and both editors resigned.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The domain label is load-bearing, per the verified record: the primary-sourced pressure case here (the Annals advertising pullback) is a MEDICAL-JOURNAL case, not a consumer-news case, and the body says so in those words. No news-side adjudicated case exists; no "pharma funds X% of TV news" figure has any federal or peer-reviewed basis (the viral personalization is fact-checked False, PolitiFact 2023); and the pharma advertising-revenue-to-coverage causal literature is absent. The absences print as content - presenting the journal case as a news-media case would be the overreach this row exists to avoid.

published August 31, 2026source 2006DOI verifiedread →

How the news covered the drugs

Half the US news stories quoting an expert or study on a drug quoted at least one with a financial tie to its maker. Only 39% of those stories said so.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: What is measured versus what is asserted, per the framing rule in the verified record: these three studies measure coverage QUALITY - benefits inflated, harms omitted, conflicts undisclosed - and none of them measures why. No robust empirical literature links pharmaceutical advertising revenue at an outlet to that outlet's drug-safety coverage decisions (the classic ad-revenue studies are about tobacco, a different industry, and are not presented as pharma evidence). This row presents the measured record and asserts no cause; "media buries drug harms because pharma pays them" publishes beyond the evidence and is on the do-not-publish list.

published August 31, 2026source 2000DOI verifiedread →

"Ask your doctor" works - in both directions

In a randomized trial, asking for a drug by brand name quintupled prescribing where the drug was not clearly indicated. The same asking also cut undertreatment of real depression.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The built-in rebuttal is structural, per the verified record: BOTH directions print together, always. A brand-name request quintupled prescribing where antidepressants are not clearly indicated (55% vs 10%) AND requests cut undertreatment of real depression (minimally acceptable care 56% without a request, 90-98% with one) - the authors' conclusion is that DTC advertising "may have competing effects on quality, potentially both averting underuse and promoting overuse". The chain also stays explicit: Kravitz tests requests, not ads; the ads-to-requests link is the review tier (Mintzes 2012). "Ads make doctors prescribe" is on the do-not-publish list.

published August 31, 2026source 2005DOI verifiedread →

The six-billion-dollar ask

Drug companies spent $6.0 billion advertising prescription drugs to American consumers in 2016, up from $1.3 billion in 1997.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The mandatory rebuttal, printed beside the guidance annotation per the verified record: Rosenthal et al., NEJM 2002 (doi:10.1056/NEJMsa012075) - "the initial surge in direct-to-consumer advertising preceded the 1997 FDA guidelines... and thus the 1997 guidelines may not have been the most important reason" for the increase. The 1997 draft and 1999 final guidance are rendered as annotations ("the rules changed here"), never as the asserted cause of the spend curve - and DTC advertising was never illegal, so "legalized" appears nowhere in this row.

published August 31, 2026source 2019DOI verifiedread →

Who writes the diagnostic manual, and who pays them

Sixty-nine percent of the DSM-5 task force had financial ties to industry. The manual's publisher says 72 percent reported none - and both figures are correct.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The DSM panel counts are from 2006 and 2012 - historical, not current. The American Psychiatric Association's rebuttal is shown beside the Cosgrove counts because the two figures count different groups in different years, and both are correct as stated.

published August 31, 2026source 2012DOI verifiedread →

Why your doctor gets paid for procedures, not outcomes

American healthcare pays by the item - a visit, a test, a procedure. Recovery is not an item and never appears on the bill.

not yet assessed

Caveat on this rating: The overtreatment figure is an aggregate estimate with a wide band, not a finding about anyone's individual care. Population-level effects of payment systems say nothing about any individual clinician's reasoning, and the research does not claim otherwise - nothing here says your doctor is motivated by money.

published August 31, 2026source 2012DOI verifiedread →

This is information to bring to your prescriber, not medical advice and not a reason to change anything on your own. Nothing here is an instruction to stop or reduce a medication. If you are in crisis, call or text 988.